Welcome to Plates & Paper! -Magic Cookie Bars

I am excited to introduce the first plate to appear on Plates & Paper! My name is Audrey and I am a college student at Oregon State University. My co-blogger, Chelsea, and I have a passion for food and books and decided to share those interests with you. I will be tackling the cooking and food side (Plates) and Chelsea will work on the book reviews (Paper). We may switch it now and again, but hope to gain readership before doing anything too drastic.

My first recipe that I want to share with you is an old, but good recipe from Eagle Brand Sweetened & Condensed Milk. Magic Cookie bars (or 7 layer bars) have been made in my family for a long time and I always enjoyed making them with my mom or grandma. The traditional way to make them only uses chocolate chips, but the variation that I prefer is to use half butterscotch chips instead. The carmelly taste is irresistible! This was the first time several of my friends had tried Magic Cookie Bars and they loved them. Enjoy!

P1080221

 

P1080226

 

P1080228

 

Adapted from Eagle Brand®

1/2 cup butter or margarine, melted

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1 (14 ounce) can EAGLE BRAND® Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup butterscotch chips

1 1/3 cups flaked coconut

1 cup chopped nuts

 

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

